National Centre for Early Music

[Skip navigation]
Navigation Menu

Board Members

Ken Dixon CBE

Ken is now retired. He worked in industry before becoming group chairman of Rowntree plc and a non-executive director of other companies including Bass and British Rail. Later he chaired the Joseph Rowntree Foundation, the University of York governing body and the Committee of University Chairmen.

Professor Christopher Fox

Christopher is a composer with a life-long fascination for music from all eras and cultures. He also writes about music and teaches at Brunel University where he is Professor of Music

Paul Murphy

Paul has worked in central and local government, and public and private sectors. Recent roles in York have focused on education, including NYBEP Ltd, City of York Council, and York St John University. He is currently interim Director of Higher York.

Nick Nightingale

Nick is now retired from full time work. He was variously a solicitor in private practice, a senior executive at Rowntree Mackintosh plc in York, at Tate & Lyle plc in London and finally at the World Alliance of YMCAs in Geneva.

Mike Taylor

Mike has been a Trustee since 1998 and became chairman in 2007. Mike's background was in finance, having been the group finance director of chemicals group, Hickson International plc, and then of the Northumbrian Water Group plc.
Menna McGregor

Menna has been Clerk to the Mercers' Company since 2008.  Menna is currently also a trustee of The Royal Ballet School, The Royal Ballet School Endowment Trust, and the Royal Central School of Speech and Drama. Previous trusteeships include 12 years at the National Foundation for Youth Music.